Select a page

Our expertise

Innovative IME technology

Innovative technology

The ELIPPSE project is developing an innovative technology based on the integration of a functional film with printed electronics and Surface Mounted Devices (SMD) into 3D plastic parts with complex geometry : In-Mould Electronics technology. This approach enables the manufacturing of high-added value structural electronics parts, with optimal combination of electronics and mechanical functions.

IME technology

developed in this way uses the following processes

  • functional ink formulation
  • screen printing
  • component pick-&-place
  • thermoforming
  • and overmoulding

Design
methodology

Functional materials

Manufacturing
process

High added-value products

Elippse

The demonstrator

Through the combination of these technologies, a demonstrator highlighting the possibilities and limits of the integration of printed electronics on the surface of plastic parts by overmoulding has been created.

This demonstrator illustrates the potential of the technology for highly 3D parts.

Although the technology is initially applied to energy management applications, other markets are already identified for future applications such as automotive, household appliances, medical, electronics, robotics, etc.

Sélectionner une page

Notre Savoir-Faire

Technologie innovante d’IME

Technologie innovante

Dans ce cadre, le projet ELIPPSE développe une technologie innovante d’intégration de film fonctionnel à électronique imprimée et composants non-imprimés sur pièce plastique 3D à formes géométriques complexes : technologie In-Mold Electronics. Celle-ci permet de produire des pièces plastroniques à haute valeur ajoutée intégrant de façon intime les fonctions électroniques et mécaniques.

La technologie IME

ainsi développée fait appel aux procédés

  • de formulation d’encre fonctionnelle adaptée
  • de sérigraphie
  • de report de composants
  • de thermoformage
  • et de surmoulage

Méthodes
de conception

Matériaux
fonctionnels

Procédés
de fabrication

Produits à haute
valeur ajoutée

Elippse

Le démonstrateur

Par la combinaison de ces technologies, un démonstrateur mettant en lumière les possibilités et les limites de l’intégration d’électronique imprimée en surface de pièce plastique par surmoulage est réalisé.

Ce démonstrateur illustre le potentiel de la technologie pour des pièces fortement 3D.

Bien que la technologie s’applique au domaine de la gestion de l’énergie dans un premier temps, d’autres marchés seront envisagés à l’issue du projet tels que l’automobile, l’électroménager, le médical, l’électronique, la robotique, etc.