Elippse

Printed electronics for overmoulded plastic parts

Our concept

A complete value chain

For the development of a French value chain dedicated to structural electronics, design and manufacturing of smart plastic products based on In-Mold Electronics.

The growing demand for electrotechnical products with embedded functionalities related to the Internet of Things (IoT) benefits from the new possibilities offered by printed electronics and In-Mould Electronics (IME) technologies. These technologies enable a miniaturisation of the functional devices, as well as an improvement of the products ergonomics and reliability, especially in the case of Human-Machine Interfaces (HMI). Both electronics and mechanical functions are closely integrated and new functionalities can be implemented in plastic parts surface.

3 OBJECTIVES

An opportunity for new markets

Our expertise

Innovative IME technology

The ELIPPSE project is developing an innovative technology based on the integration of a functional film with printed electronics and Surface Mounted Devices (SMD) into 3D plastic parts with complex geometry : In-Mould Electronics technology. This approach enables the manufacturing of high-added value structural electronics parts, with optimal combination of electronics and mechanical functions.

The IME technology developed in this way uses the following processes

  • functional ink formulation
  • screen printing
  • component pick-&-place
  • thermoforming
  • and overmoulding

The Consortium

The partners

Complementary expertise & know-how

The ELIPPSE project consortium brings together the complementary expertise and know-how of companies, laboratories and an industrial technical centre in order to cover the entire value chain of IME plastronic products. The partners' own skills are thus put at the service of the joint development of an innovative technology for tomorrow’s functional plastic products.

Funded by / Label granted by

The ELIPPSE project is co-funded by the European Union in the frame of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

Sélectionner une page

Elippse

ÉLectronique Imprimée sur Produits Plastiques SurmoulÉs

Notre concept

Une chaîne de valeur complète

Pour le développement d’une filière plastronique en France, la conception et la fabrication de pièces plastiques intelligentes surmoulées.

L’électronique imprimée et la plastronique sont des domaines en émergence identifiés comme prometteurs pour résoudre les problématiques d’intégration de fonctions requises pour l’internet des objets dans les produits électrotechniques. Outre la résolution des problématiques liées à la miniaturisation et l’encombrement, ces technologies permettent de rendre l’interface homme-machine plus ergonomique et plus fiable, d’accroître l’intimité des fonctions électroniques avec leur environnement mécanique et d’implanter simplement de nouvelles fonctions en surface de pièces plastiques.

3 OBJECTIFS

Une opportunité pour de nouveaux marchés

Notre Savoir-Faire

Technologie innovante d’IME

Dans ce cadre, le projet ELIPPSE développe une technologie innovante d’intégration de film fonctionnel à électronique imprimée et composants non-imprimés sur pièce plastique 3D à formes géométriques complexes : technologie In-Mold Electronics. Celle-ci permet de produire des pièces plastroniques à haute valeur ajoutée intégrant de façon intime les fonctions électroniques et mécaniques.

La technologie IME ainsi développée fait appel aux procédés

  • de formulation d’encre fonctionnelle adaptée
  • de sérigraphie
  • de report de composants
  • de thermoformage
  • et de surmoulage

Le Consortium

Les partenaires

Expertises & Savoir-faire complémentaires

Le consortium du projet ELIPPSE regroupe les expertises et savoir-faire complémentaires d’entreprises, de laboratoires et d’un centre technique industriel afin de couvrir l’ensemble de la chaine de valeur des produits plastroniques IME. Les compétences propres des partenaires sont ainsi mises au service du développement conjoint d’une technologie innovante pour les produits plastiques fonctionnels de demain.

Nos financeurs et pôles labellisateurs

Le projet ELIPPSE est cofinancé par l’Union européenne dans le cadre du Fonds Européen de Développement Régional (FEDER).